Epe Ogunmodede Club Marks Milestone with Induction Ceremony and Bursary Awards Presentation

In a momentous three-in-one gathering on Saturday, December 30th, 2023, kakalistiq.com reports that the iconic Epe Ogunmodede Club celebrated a remarkable milestone in the form of its induction ceremony for new members and awarded bursaries to deserving students in the Epe community.

Mr. Jafar Sanuth

The event, reminiscent of the last gathering in 2019, unfolded with gratitude and prayers to the Almighty God for the reality of the day and anticipation of the club’s 50th anniversary next year. Mr. Jafar Sanuth, the club’s vice president, acknowledged the arduous efforts of the president, the executive, and all members, especially the elders, for revitalizing the scholarship and bursary award for indigent students, a long-awaited initiative since 2014.

Highlighting the club’s commitment to its traditions during his address, Mr. Sanuth emphasized the importance of consolidating with new invitees before accepting new nominations, a practice in line with the founding fathers’ norms. The induction ceremony, which took place after a four-year hiatus, welcomed nominees deemed credible, hardworking, respectable, and trustworthy.

The upgraded clubhouse served as the backdrop for the induction, a testament to the club’s continuous interest in community development. Mr. Sanuth congratulated all members for their unwavering commitment and urged them to use their diverse callings to enhance the community’s well-being and prioritize economic development.

Earlier, the Grand Chief Imam of the Epe Division, Fadeelatul Sheikh Alhaji AbdulRahmon Abiola Sadala, led prayers for the club’s prosperity and growth, along with the representation of the Olu-Epe of the Epe Kingdom and other distinguished community figures such as illustrious sons of the community such as Alhaji Adio Oduola, Engineer Abiola Anifowoshe, and Associate Professor Nosiru Onibon, amongst many others.

Also, the Scholarship Committee Chairman, Alhaji Waliu Onibon, disclosed that the rejuvenated scholarship award attracted numerous entries nationwide, with 12 recipients carefully selected after rigorous scrutiny. Among the beneficiaries were students from various Nigerian institutions, expressing heartfelt gratitude for their benevolence.

They include Agbomeji Sofia Ayomide; Elewuro Ramota Olakewu; Shabi Abibat lyabo; Fawe Zainab Bukola; and Amuni Batul Motunrayo. Others are Baruwa Kunle Abdulbaki, Sanuth Farhan Adeayo, Hassan Aishat Adeola, Kawojue Aminat Abolore, Kawojue Nosirudeen Adebayo, Bamidele Akindolapo Olatunji, and Yusuf Sherif.

The lucky beneficiaries, led by Aminat Kawojue, expressed heartfelt gratitude to the club for their benevolence and promised to utilize the money well while also working hard to attain academic success.

The induction ceremony featured prominent figures like Chief Ekemode Adetola, Engineer Issa Saliu-Okulu, and Mr. Abaniwonda Oluwakayode, who were physically present for induction, swearing-in, and signing of the club’s oath form. The new inductees, encouraged by Mr. Sanuth, expressed excitement and commitment to their roles in separate interviews, describing their induction as a dream come true after years of anticipation.

Kaka Babatunde

Kaka Babatunde

Kaka Babatunde is a budding academic researcher and media enthusiast whose experience germinated in high school, attaining the Press Club presidency. As an iconic field reporter for 3 years, he is a writer, serial volunteer, and community cum youth development champion whose collaborative efforts have immensely contributed to nation-building in Epe LGA, Lagos, and Nigeria at large.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *