Anomo’s Enthralling Annual Bursary Berths in Ikosi-Ejinrin LCDA, Brightens Indigent Students Academic Excellence reports that on Thursday, March 21st, 2024, Akogun Wale Raji Anomo, the esteemed Executive Chairman of Ikosi-Ejinrin Local Council Development Area (LCDA), unveiled a groundbreaking bursary program designed to support indigent students pursuing higher education. The program, valued at N10 million annually, aims to alleviate financial burdens and foster academic excellence among deserving students across all six wards of the LCDA.

Akogun Wale Raji Anomo

The innovative bursary program, a first of its kind in the LCDA, will award N50,000 each to 200 students annually. This support will be distributed across four phases, ensuring a broad impact and reaching students from various higher institutions within the LCDA. The inaugural phase saw 50 students, carefully selected from over 10 institutions representing the six wards, receive their bursary awards during the official launch ceremony at the Council Secretariat in Agbowa.

Akogun Wale Raji Anomo, known for his visionary leadership and dedication to human capital development, expressed his commitment to investing in the future of Ikosi-Ejinrin. During his inauguration address, he urged the beneficiaries to prioritize their studies and stay focused, highlighting the LCDA’s unwavering dedication to excellence.

The Chairman’s emphasis on academic success as a source of pride for the LCDA underscored the program’s overarching goal of nurturing outstanding scholars. “Amidst Nigeria’s economic challenges, we must invest in our future leaders. The bursary program is not just a gesture but a strategic move to empower our youth and secure a brighter tomorrow,” he stated.

Alhaji Wasiu Dehinsilu, the Vice Chairman, congratulated the recipients and emphasized the importance of academic achievement as a form of gratitude for the LCDA’s investment. Bello AbdulGafar, National President of the Federation of Ikosi-Ejinrin Students Association (FIKESA), expressed gratitude for the Chairman’s fulfilment of his promise, advising beneficiaries to utilize the funds wisely. Otunba Shittu Aliu Idowu (SAICO), Chairman of the Bursary Awards Committee, commended Akogun Wale Anomo’s visionary leadership and encouraged recipients to remain focused on their educational pursuits.

The event saw the presence of esteemed dignitaries, including SLG Hon. Miniru Temitope, the Council Manager Mr. Sunday Awobajo, the CT Mr. Lawal Adeshina, the Leader of the House Hon. Mustapha Hassan, Supervisor for Education Hon. Kazeem Olatunde, HOD Education Mr. Balogun, and members of the Ikosi-Ejinrin LCDA Bursary Committee, Mrs. Olufunke Ogun, Mrs. Riskat Ajewole, and Barr. Lucas Olalekan. Also in attendance were FEDSA National President Com. Adesanya Ibraheem and Epe Constituency II representative at Lagos State Youth Parliament Com. Bakre Israel Ttimilehin, highlighting the collaborative efforts and widespread support for this transformative initiative.

The launch of the bursary program marks a significant milestone in the LCDA’s commitment to empowering its youth and investing in their academic success. With strong leadership, collaborative partnerships, and a dedication to excellence, Ikosi-Ejinrin LCDA sets a shining example of proactive measures aimed at shaping a brighter future through education.


Kaka Babatunde

Kaka Babatunde

Kaka Babatunde is a budding academic researcher and media enthusiast whose experience germinated in high school, attaining the Press Club presidency. As an iconic field reporter for 3 years, he is a writer, serial volunteer, and community cum youth development champion whose collaborative efforts have immensely contributed to nation-building in Epe LGA, Lagos, and Nigeria at large.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *