Obasa Appoints Tobun, Ogunkelu (Sketel), Shabi into Lagos State House of Assembly’s Committee Leadership.

Kakalistiq.com reports that the Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa has reportedly announced the appointment of House Committee leadership, with three prominent sons of the Epe set to play pivotal roles in the legislative process of the 10th Assembly.

Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa

The news, which has sparked a wave of jubilation across the Lawmakers’ political base surfaced on the evening of Thursday, September 21st, 2023, via various online political platforms in the state, outlining the key figures taking charge of vital committees.

Hon. Abiodun Tobun. Epe Constituency I.

Epe Constituency I’s Hon. Mustain Abiodun Tobun has been selected to lead the crucial Commerce, Industry, and Cooperatives committee. With a mandate to oversee matters related to commerce, industry, and cooperative enterprises, Hon. Tobun, who held sway as Works and Infrastructure chairman in the 9th Assembly, is well-poised to contribute to the economic development of Lagos State.

Hon. Sylvester Ogunkelu, Epe II.

Hon. Ogunkelu Sylvester, another distinguished Epe (Eredo LCDA) indigene leading Epe Constituency II, has clinched the leadership of the House Committee on Physical Planning and Urban Development. This committee holds sway over urban development issues in Lagos State, making Hon Sylvester (former Chairman of the House Committee on SDGs and Overseas Investment) a key player in shaping the state’s physical landscape.

Engr. AbdulRasheed Shabi, Lagos Mainland II.

In addition to Hon. Tobun and Hon. Sylvester, the former czar of the Lagos State Environmental Protection Agency (LASEPA) now representing Lagos Mainland Constituency II, Engineer Abdul-Rasheed Shabi, has been appointed to head the Environment (Parastatals) Committee. This committee plays a vital role in fostering collaborative relationships between the Lagos State House of Assembly and parastatals within the Ministry of Environment.

The full list of committee leadership assignments, as announced by Speaker Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa is as follows:

  1. Business Rules and Standing Order – Hon. Noheem Adams
  2. Ethics, Protocols, and Privileges – Hon. Mojeed Fatai
  3. House Services – Hon. Tijani Surajudeen
  4. Public Account State – Hon. Kehinde Joseph
  5. Public Account Local – Hon. Akinsanya Nureni
  6. Civic Engagement – Hon. Jimoh Orelope
  7. Agriculture – Hon. Olotu Emmanuel
  8. Economic, Planning, and Budget – Hon. Olumoh Lukmon
  9. Education (Ministry and Agency) – Hon. Mrs. Sangodara Mosunmola
  10. Education (Institution) – Hon. Ajani Owolabi
  11. Science and Technology – Hon. Adeseyi Lawal
  12. Environment (Parastatals) – Hon. Shabi Rasheed
  13. Environment (Ministry) – Hon. Olanrewaju Afinni
  14. Establishment, Training, and Pension – Hon. Aro Moshood
  15. Energy and Mineral Resources – Hon. Oluwa Sobur Akanbi
  16. Waterfront Infrastructure Development – Hon. (Engr.) Gbolahan Yishawu
  17. Transportation – Hon. Adewale Temitope
  18. Information, Security, and Strategy – Hon. Ogundipe Stephen
  19. Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation – Hon. Lara Olumegbon
  20. Works and Infrastructure – Hon. Desmond Elliot
  21. Wealth Creation – Hon. Osifile Stella
  22. Finance – Hon. Obafemi Saheed
  23. Health – Hon. Musibau Aina
  24. Home Affairs – Hon. Abdulkareem Jubreel
  25. Tourism, Arts and Culture – Hon. Solomon Bonu
  26. Youth and Social Development – Hon. Biodun Orekoya
  27. Judiciary, Human Rights, Public Petition and LASIEC – Hon. Ajomale Oladipo
  28. Lands – Hon. Seyi Lawal
  29. Housing – Hon. Segun Ege
  30. Central Business District – Hon. Oladele Ajayi
  31. Special Duties and Intergovernmental Relations – Hon. Doherty David
  32. Local Government and Community Relations – Hon. Sanni Okanlawon
  33. Legislative Compliance – Hon. (Engr.) David Setonji
  34. Procurement – Hon. Apata Samuel
  35. Inter-parliamentary Relations – Hon. Adedamola Richard Kasunmu
  36. Public Private Partnership – Hon. Kazeem Olayinka
  37. Overseas Investments and SDG – Hon. Ogunleye Gbolahan
  38. Selection Committee – Hon. (Dr.) Mudashiru Ajayi Obasa

The appointment of these distinguished leaders reflects the commitment of the Lagos State House of Assembly to effective governance and representation across various sectors of the state. With Epe’s prominent sons at the forefront, the assembly aims to address critical issues and drive progress in Lagos State.

Kaka Babatunde

Kaka Babatunde

I am Kaka Babatunde, a budding academic researcher and media enthusiast whose experience in the media industry spans 3 years under @Ekohotblog as a field reporter. I'm a writer, serial volunteer, and community and youth development enthusiast whose collaborative efforts have immensely contributed to nation-building in Epe LGA, Lagos.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *